Amsterdam in Winter

“So, it must be nice living in centre of one of the most beautiful towns in the world?”, people ask me sometimes. Well, actually–I must admit–it is, and I feel privileged.

The next question I get regularly from people, mostly foreigners is “So, what’s best in Amsterdam”? I’m not a tour guide, so I definitely don’t know what’s best in Amsterdam. There’s only the Amsterdam I like, the bars and restaurants I like and the parks, terrasses, clubs and cinemas I like.

So I’ll write about that. I’ll try to keep things condensed, with short personal tips and will spread it out over multiple posts.

For now, I would like to leave you with a picture of the Kloveniersburgwal, the canal we are living on. In this picture it’s fully covered in ice. The was a few weeks ago and it was the first time you could actually skate on the canals in 15 years. More pictures of Amsterdam on ice on Flickr.

Kloveniersburgwal on Ice

p.s. my favorite place in Amsterdam if it’s cold? Well, that’d be the Wijnand Fockink. You will be hearing that name often in this series as it’s actually my favorite place for a lot of different types of occasions. I’ll tell you more about the place later.

What say you?

